Confederate Regiments




Va. State Line and Other Units

Guerilla Units

Bryan’s Battery

Bryan’s Battery [also called Lewisburg Artillery and Monroe Artillery] was organized during the summer of 1862. It served with the Army of Western Virginia and in December contained 4 officers and 116 men. Later the unit was assigned to McCausland’s Brigade, Department of Western Virginia and East Tennessee. It sustained 5 casualties in the fight at Cloyd’s Mountain, and in December, 1864, attached to J.F. King’s Battalion of Artillery, served with Early in the Shenandoah Valley. The battery disbanded during the spring of 1865.

Captain Thomas A. Bryan was in command.

[Source: National Park Service, Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System]

West Virginia counties contributing soldiers: Monroe, Greenbrier

Bryan’s Battery – National Park Service

Lowry’s, Bryan’s, and Chapman’s Batteries, Virginia Artillery; Virginia Regimental History Series, by J.L.Scott, H.E. Howard Publishing, 1988.

Monroe Artillery Battery, Compendium of the Confederate Armies: Virginia, by Stewart Sifakis, pp. 53-54, entry #111.

Bryan’s Battery, A Guide to Virginia’s Military Organizations, 1861-1865, by Lee A. Wallace, Jr., pg. 14.

Military operations, 1861-1864, Fayetteville, West Virginia and the Lynchburg Campaign, by Milton W, Humphreys; Cotton Hill Publications, Facsimile Edition.